Distance Learning Schedule

K5  1st Grade  2nd Grade  3rd Grade  4th Grade  5th & 6th Grade  7th & 8th Grade

 

Distance Learning Plan

The following information describes the Bader Hillel Academy Distance Learning Plan.  For those times when BHA goes all virtual, whether a pod or the entire school, whether for a few day, a few weeks or a few months our Distance Learning Plan will guide instruction for teachers, students and parents.

After surveying teachers and families to learn what worked and what did not from last spring, a number of commonalities emerged. That feedback, coupled with results from research into best practices, have been incorporated into our Distance Learning Plan.

Classes for the start of the 2020-2021 BHA school year have been live streamed for virtual students, joining their in-person classmates synchronously. Yet, we have prepared for a time if/when the need arises for a class, classes, or the entire school to need to transition to being completely virtual. 

The class, classes or the entire school will be informed of the in-person closer and information about beginning distance learning. Depending on the timing, the start of distance learning will be either a half or full day after the in-person closure announcement. This is to allow time for teachers and students to prepare their materials etc. 

 

 

If/When BHA goes virtual, you can expect the following:

  1. The vast majority of instruction will be live. 

    • Understanding that parents or adults will need to assist them, our youngest two grades will have some pre-recorded lessons to allow for flexibility and to accommodate parents’ availability.

    • For upper grades, teachers will be live for instruction and/or help during all scheduled class periods.

  2. The school’s distance-learning schedule will be as consistent as possible with the in-person schedule. It will mirror students’ daily schedule of Judaic and general studies, as well as gym, lunch, and art.

  3. During each period, teachers will provide live lessons for a portion of the time. The remainder of the period will be set aside for students to do classwork and assignments, based on the lessons taught. During the assignment periods, teachers will remain in the virtual classrooms to assist students with questions or clarifications. Small group lessons will be used as much as possible. This may entail the use of breakout rooms or repeating lessons for various groups of students over the course of a day or two.

  4. Students will be required to be on camera, in front of the computer during  instruction . Afterward, for the work portion, cameras must remain on, but students will not be required to be in front of the computer the entire time. Therefore, there is no scheduled recess. Instead there is an hour block in the middle of the day for lunch and recess.

  5. Distance-learning school days will be shorter than in person days by varying amounts. 

    • For middle school, the day will begin at the regular time of 8:10 and end at 2:50.

    • Students in lower grades will have their day successively tapered. (Educational experts agree that younger children should have limited amounts of screen time!)

    •  3rd and 4th grade will end at 2:15. 

    • 2nd grade will end their day at 1:30. 

    • 1st grade and K5 will end the live instruction portion at 11:30 with at-home projects and enrichment until 1:30.
      You can download school distance learning schedules here.
      K5    1st Grade     2nd Grade     3rd Grade    4th Grade     5th - 6th Grade     7th - 8th Grade

The following are several important updates regarding virtual learning expectations of students:

  • Attendance is mandatory.  “Online” still means school is in session. Attendance matters. Students will be marked at the beginning of EACH period for attendance. 

  • Middle school students can expect to have homework.  Additionally, they may have work that was started in class that must be completed. 

  • 3rd-8th grade students will be required to use their school supplied Chromebooks for all BHA classes.

  • Kindergarten-2nd grade students will be issued a Chromebook as soon as they arrive.  If any K-2nd grade family needs a computer in the meantime, please contact Sue at office@theacdemywi.org immediately.

Google Classroom will be continue to be the primary tool for access to daily learning activities and resources, for grades 3rd through 8th. Students, 3rd Grade and up, have been afforded a Chromebook to access materials (subject to signing our Chromebook usage agreement). The Google Classrooms can continue to be accessed through our Virtual Learning Gateway

 

One of the most consistent pieces of feedback we received from families last spring, was that students found it challenging to navigate multiple online systems during distance learning. At the start of the school year, all teachers will be using Google Classroom to manage their courses. This will streamline teacher communication with students and simplify students’ (and families’) ability to keep track of assignments. It will also simplify the process by which students submit work and receive feedback from their teachers.

For grades K5-2nd, we will be utilizing the new, upgraded Class Dojo. Over the past months there have been many upgrades and modifications to the platform. Our teachers are confident that this platform will work best for this young age. Teachers will work with their students so they can access their profile with minimal support.

Teachers are responsible for fostering a connection, and relationship with each student. Teachers will be responsible for providing live education and instruction to virtual students.  

Most materials will be provided digitally. For those materials that cannot be provided digitally, families will need to come to the school, to pick-up and exchange materials on Fridays to ensure learning materials are available.

 

Roles and Responsibilities for Students

  • Students must follow the daily schedule.  Attendance and performance will be monitored and count towards the overall grade.  This is critical to enrollment in BHA, and your child’s academic success.  

  • If a student will need to be absent, the classroom teacher must be notified in order for the absence to be excused.  

  • With your parents, create a daily schedule that includes a healthy bedtime, physical activity, time outside, school-work time, meals, family games/activities, etc.

  • Dedicate appropriate time to school work including balance of school and break times, screen times, etc.

  • Create a workspace free of distractions when doing school work.

  • Reach out to teachers and staff as needed for questions and support.

     Students Should:

  • Access your Google Classroom Portal through the BHA Virtual Gateway review your class assignments and updates

  • Check Email regularly for updates from teachers

  • Submit all work by the assigned due date

  • Be in contact with their teachers at least twice a week to discuss questions, classwork, and progress

 


Accessing Google Classrooms

Beginning this year at Bader Hillel Academy, we are looking for new and easy ways for students and parents alike to monitor their progress from outside the classroom.  For our students who will be joining into their synchronized classrooms, we have created a simple, one step document that will allow each BHA student to access their complete Google Classroom forum.  From their Classroom homepage, each student will be able to access every individual subject, as well as their “live” synchronous classes.

For a step by step guide, please follow the following:

  1. Using your internet browser, go to the BHA Gateway  www.theacademywi.org/gateway

  2. Next, login to your child’s grade/class page.

  3. Inside the individual grade level, there is a daily schedule with times for every class subject.  Along with the times, there will be a link to your child’s google classroom homepage.  (classroom.google.com) PLEASE NOTE: This will only be accessible for people with a BHA email address.

  4. Once inside their classroom, each room will have an individual google meet link on their front mast of the page to access their virtual classroom.

 


Roles and Responsibilities for Families

We recognize that learning from home can be a challenge as you manage your own work/personal demands during this time. The guidelines below are meant to help facilitate a successful distance learning environment. 

  • Ensure your children have access to a distraction-free workspace that is conducive to learning. 
  • Work with your child to establish a healthy daily routine, including regular wake-up and bedtimes, focused time for academic work, and time for off-screen and outdoor activity. 
  • Take an active role in monitoring assignments and progress by checking in with your child daily about their current tasks, assignments and assessments. 
  • Engage with your child in conversation about their school work. Ask your child to provide a brief summary of their work and their learning in each class daily. 
  • Encourage regular student communication with teachers and participation in their teacher scheduled learning sessions. 
  • Communicate regularly with teachers and school leadership, especially if your child is struggling with distance learning academically, socially, or emotionally. 

 BHA Teachers Will:

  •  Provide objectives and opportunities to keep students on track with their grade level.

  •  Check email daily and respond to emails from students and families within 24 hours. 

  •  Provide regular feedback to students on work submitted. 

  •  Teachers will post a weekly schedule at the start of each week on the class portal page, to facilitate a students' ability to stay on track.

  •  Assign work that is meaningful and relevant to their lives.

  • To reach your child's class information and Google Classroom, go to the  Virtual Learning Gateway and make sure you log in with your child's BHA email address. 

  • If your child has been receiving specialized instruction for Judaics, please reach out to Mrs. Landes blandes@theacademywi.org

If your child has been receiving specialized instruction for Secular Studies, please reach out to Ms. Kramer rkramer@theacademywi.org.  

 

 Questions related to:   Contact:
 A specific class, an assignment, or resource Relevant Teacher (See directory below)
 A technology issue/request

virtual@theacademywi.org 

(expect a lag time at the start of the school term)

 

Bader Hillel Academy Staff Directory

Name

Email

Subject(s)

Hagit Aslack

haslack@theacademywi.org

K5-6th Grade Ivrit

Miriam Bates

miriamc.bates@gmail.com

Judaic Tutor

Jane Cebulski

jcebulski@theacademywi.org

Special Education

Brittni Clark

bclark@theacademywi.org

Middle School Science

Cristy Danielson

cdanielson@theacademywi.org

4th Grade General Studies

Anthony Davila

adavila@theacademywi.org

Gym

Catherine Ellis

cellis@theacademywi.org

1st Grade General Studies

Leah Emmer

leah@theacademywi.org

3rd Grade General Studies, 5th & 6th Girls Bat Mitzvah

Rachael Fales

rfales@theacademywi.org

1st Grade Paraprofessional 

Ellie Faustich

efaustich@theacademywi.org

Middle School Math

Maureen Gordon

mgordon@theacademywi.org

 

Rabbi Yossi Hecht

yhecht@theacademywi.org

2nd Grade Judaic 7th & 8th Grade Judaic

Randi Kramer

rkramer@theacademywi.org

Learning Specialist

Elliot Kramsky

ekramsky@theacademywi.org

2nd Grade Paraprofessional 

Batya Landes

blandes@theacademywi.org

Curriculum Developer Judaic

Kali Lehman

klehman@theacademywi.org

3rd Grade Paraprofessional

Nicole Lesnik

nlesnik@theacademywi.org

2nd Grade General Studies

Sue Linski

Office@theacademywi.org

Front Office

Juliya Lotman

lotman@sbcglobal.net

Nurse/testing

Mary Luedtke

mluedtke@theacademywi.org

3rd Grade General Studies

Staci Maiman

smaiman@theacademywi.org

Reading Splst

Chaya Mann

cmann@theacademywi.org

4th Grade Judaic

Katy Merkel

kmerkel@theacademywi.org

K5 Paraprofessional 

Rabbi Shlomo Munitz

smunitz@theacademywi.org

5&6 Judaic

Sean Peterson

speterson@theacademywi.org

MS Paraprofessional 

Marie Petrakovitz

mpetrakovitz@theacademywi.org

Mental Health

Judy Pierson

jpierson@theacademywi.org

K5 GS

Marissa Rubino

mrubino@theacademywi.org

4th Grade Paraprofessional 

Ellen Schneiderman

eschneiderman@theacademywi.org

Development

Suzanne Seymour

artists@creativepottery.com

Art

Devorah Shmotkin

dshmotkin@theacademywi.org

Principal

Jacob Sklar

ysklar@theacademywi.org

Kriah Reading

Michael Tepper

mtepper@theacademywi.org

SS MS 7&8 Ivrit Basketball

Doba Thaler

dthaler@theacademywi.org

1st judaic

Yechezkel Thaler

ythaler@theacademywi.org

MS Judaic

Jen Tracey

jtracey@theacademywi.org

5th GS

Sandy Truntz

struntz@theacademywi.org

Title 1

Randee Waxman

rwaxman@theacademywi.org

Librarian

Rivkie Wilschanski

rivkiew@gmail.com

Student Council 

Mary Wishne

mwishne@theacademywi.org

ELA MS

Rochel Leah Wolvovsky

rwolvovsky@theacademywi.org

K5 Judaic

Shlomo Wolvovsky

swolvovsky@theacademywi.org

Adjunct Studies/MS Judaic

 

Access the  Virtual Learning Gateway and make sure you log in with your BHA email address. 

 


Have more questions? Contact us